top of page

Wine Label

I made my own brand of fictitious wine that would compete in an international marketplace. I researched types of wine and chose Pinot Noir since I had settled on a design of red wine pouring into a glass, and Pinot Noir itself has sort of a red color. I then came up with a name for my wine brand: "Wine of the Times", a play on the phrase "sign of the times".

Then it was time to develop my winery & wine for the design brief. Hornsberry Wells was the name I chose, since it sounded like the name of a winery to me. The location was set in the Adelaide Hills region. The company chooses grapes from local growers and those sourced from that region. The winemaker Gerry Scraggle (I had a hard time choosing a good name) then selects grapes to produce the finest wines rich in flavor.

As for the wine itself, it has an exquisite taste of cherry, raspberry, and blueberry that is grand as its aroma. Its target audience is professional people of both genders aged 30-40. They are smart and sophisticated with an above average income. Their knowledge level is beginner to intermediate and they appreciate wine.

With that taken care of, I got to work on the front and back covers of the wine label. I made the front label first in FireAlpaca, and then tweaked it in Photoshop. For the back, I used only Photoshop. The design on the front label is a picture of wine swirling as it is being poured into a wine glass, forming a circle with a minute and hour hand inside to look like a clock. This design was meant to convey how it could be a wine for any given occasion. The wine is pink, a color of unconditional love and caring meaning it can be shared with someone special.

Once I finished both labels I warped them onto pictures of Pinot Noir bottles.

In comparing an earlier piece that is similar, I think this piece is a satisfactory improvement in design and planning than my Soul Patrol T-Shirt piece.

I like this piece because it was really fun to work on. I had my own instant original idea for a wine brand, then perfected it and it turned out amazing.

Design Brief - https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Untojd81KhG3gmlp5n35JF-mAiSszGuOIFKVpiW1YmA


bottom of page